Hi guys,

Apologies for the neglect, but a big thank you to the new followers for joining me! This year has been a super hectic year for me, so I’ve neglected my blog a little. I think it’s fair to say that this hasn’t been an easy year. A real test of character and strength for many people, not just because of all the celebrity deaths, terror attacks or Trump.  People, including myself seemed to have really battled life this year. Nonetheless, we are alive to fight another day. So let’s make sure 2017, is kickass and awesome!

With less than seven days left until the end of the year, I thought I would do a countdown of the things that I’ve learnt this year.

Always follow your instincts 

I started 2016 jobless and anxious. I was turning 25 and hadn’t quite found the role I wanted yet. After freelancing, I knew what I wanted to do career-wise. I just didn’t know how to achieve it. Then I got a job which turned out to be career waster. I spent 6 months in a job that had no future. Now, I knew it didn’t after one month in, but I stayed.

b82df397c793d2837da08efa90d3dd47156b311c64113c43d2055331e007a1f5.jpg

I ignored my instincts in regards to career choice ( AGAIN) and hoped I would get promoted before I left. Big mistake!

Life, like my period, isn’t always predictable and my company ended up dismantling my team. My managers were honest and admitted that weren’t sure what direction, they were going to take the team in. No shit!

So, they were rearranging us and offering us lower paying junior roles. This time, I followed my gut. 2015 me might have been grateful, but 2016 me knows her worth and was like…

“Thanks, but no thanks”

Excellent choice by me! I’ve already fucked up twice accepting roles, I didn’t want so I could have income and be employed. I wasn’t doing it again and now, I’m ending the year in a better company where I’m learning so much. The staff are great and I’m working on such cool projects.

It’s not always easy to do, but following your instincts is one of the best ways to lead your life! If it doesn’t feel right, it usually isn’t! If I had stayed in that job for the mileage aka experience. I would have struggled in a couple years time at higher role when I left. I wasn’t learning anything, minus what I didn’t like to do.

Umm…I could have learnt that in a role I love as well.

Thank you 2016 for teaching me that. This is a lesson, I believe God has been trying to teach me for years and I’ve ignored. I’m glad the older me is learning it slowly.

No getting involved in projects I don’t love! No more allowing people I’m unsure about into my life! Everything I do now, I do it with both feet in!  2017 I’m going to start listening to my body more and letting it guide me better.

If it doesn’t feel right, it’s not right!

Never forget!

One thought on “2016 countdown – Always follow your instincts

  1. This year gave quite similar lessons to me as well. If 2015 was the best year in my life, this one wasn’t, that’s for sure, but I am learning to listen more to my inner-self, I am still positive and I know that everything will be just fine…no, better than that.

    “No getting involved in projects I don’t love! No more allowing people I’m unsure about into my life! Everything I do now, I do it with both feet in! 2017 I’m going to start listening to my body more and letting it guide me better.”

    Precious words.

    Wish you well 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

