The envy that used to flow through my body, when I went on Facebook and saw that some of my old friends ( frenemies included) were travelling across the world or had migrated used to be so powerful.

I was so jealous that they were off experiencing a new type of freedom, adventures… a lifestyle, I was sure I wouldn’t be able to experience.

These days the glitter has shimmered off of that fantasy. Why? I realised, I’m not cut from that cloth. Yes, I suffer from bouts of wanderlust and I want to see the world, but I want to do that while fighting for a seat on the central line and paying for an expensive panini in Eat.

Hostels, camping, different time zones, endless flights…

Full-time travel is NOT for me for many reasons, such as:

1. Creature comforts

I like my bed more than I like some people in my life.

Sometimes all I want to do is go back MY flat, pop on MY favourite PJs and climb into MY bed. These are my home comforts, this combo is an exclusive comfort package tailored to MY house. This might seem like a fickle luxury, but for me it’s not.

I’m not ready to give up my haven, for a string of unfamiliar hotel rooms for months/years.

2. I have a good source of income

Travelling isn’t cheap at all. Flights, hotels/hostels, food etc…It is so costly, leaving you with only two options.

  1. Save up for a bit and then travel.
  2. Take what little you have and just travel along and work

Option one is not a long-term plan, unless you have been saving up for years. So I would have to turn to option two eventually. Option two isn’t for me, I don’t enjoy just getting by, I could barely handle that period in University.

Working full-time means I always have good money coming in from a job I love.

If you are someone who doesn’t mind scrapping by or doing the odd job. Here are some great links which give advice on how to travel and work:

Jobs for Full-Time Travelers (and Other Ways to Support Yourself Financially)

http://afterglobe.net/make-money-while-traveling/

45 Great Jobs You Can Do While Traveling The World And How To Get Them

One of the suggested ways to make money on afterglobe is to sell your eggs…..ummmm, no comment.

3. I can travel around the world and up the career ladeer

I graduated university a year or so after all my friends. By the time I was done, they were already on the career ladder looking for their second roles or had received promotions.

Now, I’m a strong believer that life isn’t a race, it’s a journey, but I know where I want to be a few years. Taking another detour is just going to put me behind and marketing is a very competitive field.

Not sure the time I spend travelling worldwide can help push me up the career ladder. It’s great having amazing travelling experiences when you’re young, but not establishing a good foundation for myself in my field until later on life can impact so much.

Working now means that I can build a great career for myself. So when I take a career break later, I’ll have loads of experience in my pocket.

4. Births, Weddings, Birthdays and milestones

I don’t want to do long distance relationships my family and friends.

My mum has taken up sewing and a whole bunch of crazy hobbies, my brothers are getting their first jobs, my friends are getting married and having babies. Everything is up in the air and amazing right now, I’m not ready to miss out on a single baby shower or wedding. Those countries aren’t going anywhere, my family and friends on the other hand are not going to stand still for me.

Travelling part-time means I can enjoy climbing up a mountain and not miss a single 1st birthday.

5. Travelling is my reward for working hard

When I go on little breaks it makes me feel like I’m treating myself for my hard work. I like the feeling, it’s like “Here you go for working your ass off on that campaign. You are amazing and killed it”.

Not working takes this away. Small I know, but It’s my thing. I’ve always been a bit competitive and the kind of girl who collects gold stars. Every holiday is a gold star for me.

Honestly, I just don’t think I’m built for constant travel. I think you have to be a certain person to spend all your time on the road. A true free-spirit, I’m not that.

I want a high paid position, my own flat,a ring and a baby all by thirty! The idea of temporary friends , constant movement and a lack of certainty doesn’t appeal to me. I like being spontaneous, but not knowing what’s next…..PASS.

What about you? I would love to hear some thoughts on what it is actually like being a full-time traveller. Would you give up your job to travel full-time?

Leave a Reply

