Happy Sunday everyone!

Hope you are having a lovely blessed day. What have you been up-to?

I’ve spent a good part of my day just watching Breaking Bad. Practically everyone I know has seen it so I’m a little behind. Currently I’m loving it Jesse is a babe, but Skylar is super annoying and she is killing the vibe a little.

One thing, I think my brain can’t seem to wrap it’s head around is the fact that Hal from Malcolm in the middle is a drug lord. Like Heisenberg is so badass! What happened there?

The few moments I haven’t been glued to my Netflix, I’ve spent it baking in the kitchen. As you know this week is National Doughnut Week ( although, I’m beginning to think I was lied to) so I promised to make gluten-free doughnuts this week and share the recipe.

DSC_0336.JPG

DSC_0335.JPG

Initially, I was looking for a gluten-free recipe that didn’t require different mixtures of oat and rice flour. It’s a Sunday and I don’t have either one, but it turns out it’s near impossible to find one. Many gluten-free bakers prefer to make their own mix and don’t use store bought gluten-free flour. I do though, so I took a risk and used a non-gluten-free recipe.

THE HORROR!

Thankfully, I got lucky and found this cinnamon donut recipe on http://www.aseasyasapplepie.com. I don’t know what led me to choose this particular one, but I’m so glad I did.

My doughnuts turned out so yummy, they were soft and coconut-y. I’m actually very proud of myself. When I took a picture for Snapchat, I had people messaging me in disbelief!

The first time I tried to make doughnuts, it was a disaster. The “doughnuts” were hard and dry, it was a bloody mess and I was so upset they didn’t come out right. However, this new batch is a win. I’ve tweaked the original recipe to my taste a little, check it out below:

Ingredients

Gluten-free doughnuts

  • 120 grams (1 cup) plain gluten-free flour
  • 65 grams (1/4 cup+1 tablespoon)  sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 2 tablespoons of desicated coconut
  • 100 ml (1/3 cup+1½ tablespoon) Alpro plain soya coconut yoghurt
  • 30 grams (2 tablespoons) of butter, melted
  • 1 medium egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

For the coconut and cinnamon-sugar topping:

  • 30 grams (2 tablespoons) unsalted butter, melted
  • 100 grams (1/2 cup) of sugar
  • 2 tablespoons of desicated coconut
  • ½ teaspoon cinnamon

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 175 degrees (350 degrees F). Grease your doughnut pan with non-stick cooking spray or butter and set aside.
  2. In a large bowl whisk together all the ingredients, Then spoon the batter into the doughnut tin.
  3. Place the tin in the oven and bake for 10 minutes.
  4. Remove from the oven and allow to cool in the pan before transferring them to a wire rack to cool down .
  5. Now it’s time to make the coconut and cinnamon-sugar topping mixture.
  6. Get two small bowls, one with the melted butter and another with the sugar , coconut and cinnamon all mixed together.
  7. Dip  each side of the doughnut into the bowl of melted butter, then dip in the cinnamon sugar/coconut mixture until well coated.
  8. Now enjoy your doughnuts, this recipe makes between 8-10 doughnuts!

Now, I’m off to finish Season 3 of Breaking Bad, maybe Skylar gets eaten by a giant cockroach or something. I’m so ready for her to just go already.

Until next time xxx

 

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon & Coconut Doughnuts

Leave a Reply

