When it comes to packing for getaways, I’m really bad. I always forget something!

From antihistamines to basics such as a toothbrush, I’m always ill-prepared which is so strange because I always use check-lists that I find on the internet. However, I think the problem is that those online check-lists are jammed full of everything. From sunscreen to ski-boots, it makes it so hard to tick off what I need for my trip.

A city holiday in a cold country is more likely to consist of seeing the sights and then going out to visit the beach. You probably won’t need sunscreen or sunglasses. After visiting Gothenburg and successful packing everything I needed. I decided to write my own specific Winter essentials list to help others like me.

If you are going on a city break during the winter period, you are going to need the following things:

SUPER IMPORTANT:

  • Passport & visas
  • booking passes and tickets
  • foreign currency
  • bank cards ( You might need to take out more money, so bring at least one and let your bank know you are going abroad)
  • travel insurance
  • ID ( maybe a license)

For my holidays, I always use to compare the exchange rate.  ACE-FX and Currency Exchange Corporation are my favourites.

Travel Tip: ALWAYS BUY YOUR MONEY ONLINE! The exchange rate is better, you could go from 12.33 to 11.02, just from buying in-store.

Clothing and accessories: Wrap up warmly, no point on going on holiday to relax and being freezing cold, then coming back to be sick.

  • jumpers
  • jeans
  • thermals socks
  • leggings
  • gloves
  • hats
  • tights
  • vests
  • jewellery (Not essential, but I like looking cute)
  • boots
  • scarf and a thick coat!

Entertainment & Electrical:  Bring something to read on the plane or in the hotel in case the weather is a little too nippy on certain days for you to go out.

  • books
  • tablet
  • headphones
  • mobile phone
  • camera
  • laptop charger
  • phone charger
  • plug adapters ( always bring two)

Toiletries and medicine: Quite a few hotels provide toiletries, but I prefer to bring my own. I have quite sensitive and dry.

  • ANTIHISTAMINES ( I’m the queen of holiday allergies)
  • toothbrush
  • body wash
  • body cream
  • facial wash
  • shampoo
  • conditioner
  • hairbrush
  • deodorant
  • Paracetamol
  • Imodium ( If you carry this, make sure to bring paracetamol. Imodium may stop the diarrhoea, but it doesn’t stop the stomach cramps and the pain can be bad)

Also, I have this little trick I use to check. Imagine one day of your holiday and how it would start e.g I wake up, grab my Towel, go to the bathroom, Brush my teeth…

Towel? Check

Toothbrush? Check

Well, I hope you find this little list helpful. It’s almost spring, but I wanted to do a little list for anyone with any last minute Winter holidays.

Do you have any tips for remember things to pack for weekend getaways? Share them in the comment section below.

Until next time xx

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “What you need for a… Winter City Break

Leave a Reply

