I decided to crash the Thanksgiving celebration and join in on the fun from London.

I think it’s one of the few holidays, that we don’t celebrate in the UK that I’m jealous of. It’s like a mini-Christmas, bringing the family together to enjoy fun parades, a game of American football and great home-made food.

Plus, it’s a time where people give thanks and announce how thankful they are. Right now in my life, I’m very thankful.

  • I’m thankful for my family and friends who I love so much.
  • I’m thankful for my health, my body and most importantly my mind.
  • I’m thankful I have God watching over me.

So to show how thankful I am, I baked a pie. Initially, I wasn’t too sure what to make. I knew I didn’t want to make a turkey-based dish because…I hate turkey. I’m sorry turkey lovers, but it’s usually DRY!

My inner sweet-toothed kid took over and chose dessert. I couldn’t decide whether to make a apple, pumpkin or sweet potato pie. Eventually, laziness won and I couldn’t be bothered to go and get pumpkins or apples. So,  I made a delicious sweet potato pie to enjoy.

Anyway, check out my recipe below:

Sweet potato pie

Ingredients

Crust

  • 120g gluten-free Dove’s Farm flour
  • 120g butter, cut into small chunks
  • A pinch of salt

Filling

  • 3 medium sized sweet potatoes, peeled, boiled and mashed
  • 120g of brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1/2 table of salt
  • 1/4 of nutmeg
  • 3 medium sized eggs
  • 120ml of evaporated milk

Instructions 

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 160°C
  2. Peel the sweet potatoes, chop them into chunks and boil until soft. Keep an eye on the potatoes and regularly check them.
  3. While the potatoes boil, combine the flour and salt in bowl; now add the small butter chunks and mix until it gets really crumbly. Now add tablespoon of water  until mixture takes and then shape into a dough ball.
  4. Now roll out ball of dough on lightly floured surface until flat and then place into a tin. Cut the excess edges off.
  5. Okay it’s time for the filling, minus the egg and milk, combine all the filling ingredients in a bowl and mix until smooth. Preferably, use a blender it’s very hard hard to get smooth by hand. Once that’s done. You can add milk and eggs now.
  6. Pour the sweet potato filling into crust and bake for about an 45-1 hour.

img_20151125_221124.jpg

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

