Curry1

This week is National Curry week, so to celebrate this delicious occasion. I decided to make a chicken curry from scratch!

I’ve always wanted to do this, but I was scared. A curry looks and tastes like its complicated to make. However, I felt if there was ever a time to try it out and face my fear, National Curry week would be the time to do it.

I got some inspiration for my recipe from the Jamie Oliver website. It was such a simple and quick recipe, so it was very easy for me to make my own alterations.

My only regret is that I didn’t manage to get a good picture.

I love how Indian food looks, there are so many amazing flavours and textures and it’s really visible. So you can imagine my disappointment when I went to take images of my curry and someone had packed away the food in containers. I couldn’t even take it out to take some nice shots because it has been squashed into a plastic with rice. This was a double whammy for me, because I wanted to enjoy my curry with gluten-free naan bread, but I guess I will have to try that out next time.

See my recipe below:

Top Tip: Any vegetables or paste/sauces you may need to add along the way. Prepare them in advance so you can just add them when you are cooking rather than stopping to make or prep them.

Ingredients

  • 1 onion
  • 1 bell pepper
  • 2 tablespoons of ginger paste
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 2 tablespoons tikka masala paste ( I used Pataks, hopefully I will get the confidence to make my own)
  • 3 of double cream
  • 2 tablespoons tomato purée
  • 6 chicken thighs
  • 1 x 400 g tin chopped tomatoes
  • 1 x 400 g tin coconut milk
  • Handful of spinach
  • Salt
  • Black pepper
  • All purpose seasoning

Instructions

  1. Slice the chicken thighs into small pieces and add salt, black pepper and all purpose seasoning.
  2. Get the tikka masala paste, cream and tomato puree in a bowl. Mix until it forms a nice creamy smooth paste and then add the pieces of chicken into the paste. Now put it aside so that the chicken can marinate a little.
  3. Peel and slice the onion and pepper
  4. Heat some oil in a small pot over medium heat and add the onion and peppers. Cook until softened and lightly browned, make sure to keep stirring so they don’t burn and softens. Now add two tablespoons of minced ginger and the chopped garlic and cook for a few more minutes.
  5. Now get the chicken and scrap everything into the pot, make sure to get all the paste. You will need it!
  6. Fry the chicken for 5-10 minutes until it begins to brown and cook.
  7. Finally pour in the tinned tomatoes and coconut milk. Bring to the boil, reduce the heat and allow it to simmer for 1 hour ( Make sure to regularly stir it)
  8. Once the hour is over, add a handful of spinach and allow it to soften. Once this is done, it is ready to eat

Ta da! The curry is done.

wpid-img_20151017_183847.jpg

Leave a Reply

