Gluten-free Banana Bread And Butter Pudding

Banana Bread And Butter Pudding
Banana Bread And Butter Pudding/ http://www.thursdaysgyrl.wordpress.com

Now, I was in a bit of bad mood over the weekend. I had planned to go Notting Hill Carnival however, I’m not a fan of dancing in rain. So I decided to cheer myself up and bake a banana bread and butter pudding…….

For anybody, outside England who has never heard of this dessert. It is a classic English dessert made with bread, dried fruit, cream and milk…oh and butter. Do not get this confused with a bread pudding, which is very similar to be fair. I think it may only be the fact that the bread is buttered that separates it from a bread pudding.

My family are a big fan of bread and butter pudding. Personally I am not a fan, the texture doesn’t sit right in my mouth. Nonetheless, I enjoy trying new recipes and making my family smile so I decided to give it a go. Anyone who is tempted, but scared don’t be!

It is so simple!

The recipe below serves 8 people.

Ingredients:

  • 16 slices of white gluten-free bread
  • 6-8 bananas
  • 80g of sultanas
  • 700ml of milk
  • 4 eggs
  • 50g of granulated sugar
  • 100ml of double cream
  • Some butter to grease the baking dish

Other people may do the method of mixing all the ingredients in one bowl and mashing it together before baking. However, this is the one I tried out.

Instructions:

1. Preheat the oven to 180C/355F/Gas 4

2. Grease your dish with a bit of butter  butter or else it will stick! Baking 101 for any novices out there.

3. Cut the crusts off the bread. Spread each slice with on one side with butter, then place in the dish.

( I chose to eat my crusts, if anyone knows anything more creative I can do with them, please share)

4. Arrange a layer of bread, buttered-side up, in the bottom of the dish, add a layer of sultanas ( or raisins) and then a layer of chopped bananas.

5.Repeat the layers of bread, banana and sultanas, until you have used up all of the bread. Once this is all done, put this aside.

6. Gently warm the milk and cream in a pan over a low heat. Keep an eye on it and make sure it doesn’t boil or it gets these weird lumps in it. You can add sprinkles of nutmeg or cinnamon into the mixture.

My little cousin is allergic so I kept it simple.

7. Crack the eggs into a bowl and add the sugar and lightly whisk until pale.

8. Add the warm milk and cream mixture and stir it very well. In case you get lumps, it’s okay to strain the mixture.

9. Pour the mixture over the bread layers, leave to stand for 15-30 minutes so the bread can soak in the mixture.

10. After place the dish into the oven and bake for 30-40 minutes and the top is golden-brown.

Enjoy with custard, cream or ice-cream, your choice!

Leave a Reply

