A gluten-free diet is not for all

Hi guys,

As you may or may not know, I have an intolerance to gluten.

It causes painful bloating,constipation and sometimes, I have sharp stomach cramps and twinges. For years, I was unaware of my situation and when I eventually discovered the cause of my pain I was very reluctant to change my diet as I loved being able to eat anything.

But, I realised I was lying to myself. My body is not able to handle eating just anything! So now, I’m a free-from girl and…well I’m growing to love it.

Accepting my sensitivity/intolerance has been stressful and it annoys me when people who can eat gluten choose not to. However, I think a lot of people are just confused about the gluten-free lifestyle. So. I wanted to share what I have slowly been learning since going gluten-free and what people need to know.

So, check out my top three gluten-free facts:

A gluten-free diet isn’t healthier

It may help you cut out processed foods, but generally it isn’t healthier.

It’s not like sugar or fat, gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye and lots of other whole grain foods. This stuff is good for you, don’t cut it out hoping it will make you shed some winter weight! People who have a gluten-intolerance or coeliac disease have to be so careful with what they eat and have to make up for a lot of nutrients and vitamins they are losing out.

PLUS, Gluten-free products can be high in calories, fat, and carbohydrates, and some people who go gluten-free actually gain weight which might explain the few extra pounds I gained this year before I started this blog.

A gluten-free diet isn’t convenient or easy

Some people are under the impression that it’s easy to go gluten-free or free from anything. It isn’t!

Do you know what else is annoying? Going out to eat and there being a lack of gluten-free options!

This may be 2015, but free-from options are not widely available when it comes to eating out. I have the choice of either not eating there or a very limited choice at all. Even food you know is okay to eat sometimes isn’t offered on the gluten-free menus due to it being cooked so closely to other food which contains gluten.

A gluten-free diet can be more costly

Not all supermarkets have a wide variety of choices, it is usually limited to one or two shelves unless you are online shopping then you may have a few more options. Another thing, free-from food isn’t cheap! a bag of gluten-free flour costs £1.79 in Tesco and bread costs over £2.

Going gluten-free isn’t super expensive, but it does cost more.

Life isn’t about being skinny, it’s about being healthy and looking after your body. Diets can be dangerous and futile, just find a way to eat more healthier, cook more home-made meals, exercise and control your portions.

Until next time x

One thought on “A gluten-free diet is not for all

Leave a Reply

